Seasonal Recipe: Pumpkin Gingersnap Cakies

29 Nov

These little cookie-cake hybrids go well with a glass of milk.

Grace’s hippie sister here, indulging a craving and using up odds and ends as fall starts leaning toward winter.

After Thanksgiving dinner, I discovered I had two things on my hands: two-thirds of a can of leftover pumpkin and an outrageous craving for gingersnaps. I set out to make pumpkin gingersnaps. I fell short of my goal, but the finished product was so tasty that I decided to take the Pee-Wee Herman approach (“I meant to do that! Ha ha!”) and post the recipe for anyone else who might enjoy a simple little treat that’s somewhere between cookies and spice cake.

Start by letting a stick and a half of butter warm up to room temperature. While the butter rests, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cream softened butter and a cup of sugar together until smooth. Add an egg and a quarter-cup of molasses and beat until smooth. (I used some local sorghum I had on hand, but regular molasses will work just fine.) Add half a teaspoon of salt and two teaspoons of baking soda and mix well.

Season the dough as you would for gingersnaps.

Stir in two-thirds of a can of pumpkin and about a tablespoon each of ginger, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie spice. (You can adjust this to taste, adding ground allspice, nutmeg, cloves, or whatever else you like. You’re basically seasoning your dough as you would for gingersnaps.)

Mix in three cups of flour, one cup at a time, and refrigerate the dough for half an hour or so.

Form dough into one-inch balls, roll in sugar, and bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 8 to 10 minutes. The finished product will look like cookies, but the texture will be closer to spice cake. If you have some cream cheese frosting on hand, it would probably taste nice on top of these little “cakies.”

3 Responses to “Seasonal Recipe: Pumpkin Gingersnap Cakies”

  1. Jana November 29, 2010 at 9:44 AM #

    I am rushing to the kitchen now. Two of my favorite ingredients pumpkin and ginger all in one!

  2. Gracie November 29, 2010 at 3:47 PM #

    I know. These sound crazy good. 🙂 Thanks for the post, Emily!! I am pretty sure I still have some leftover pumpkin at home. Cannot wait!

  3. redforkhippie November 29, 2010 at 7:47 PM #

    I bet they’d taste even better drizzled with some vanilla fondant like Starbucks uses on the vanilla bean mini-scones.

Leave a Reply

