Amazing Recipe: Deep-Dish Pizza Pie Quiche

24 Nov

To view a text-only version of this recipe and complete ingredients listing, click here.

This was so much better than it had any right to be. I think it's my new favorite food.

Oh. My. Goodness. I need for all of you reading out there at home to know how wonderful this is. Because it is. Truly, it is. Is-is-is, is…IS.

Yum.

I made this quiche for a Saturday brunch when I knew meals would be happening at random odd times later in the day. The family needed something to tide them over, and I needed something to do with the pepperoni left over from making homemade minestrone.

I love quiche. Really, I do. I don’t make it often enough, which is sad, because now that I’ve tasted this amazing pizza version of it, I’ll probably never make the real thing again. And that will be sad. Very sad. But enough sadness now, because I want to share this tasty pie with you! Let us begin:

Fill unbaked pie shell with shredded mozzarella.

You’ll start out by either making or purchasing a ready-made single crust. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In the bottom of the crust, sprinkle about 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese. Really layer it in there thickly; it will help keep your quiche glued together when you slice it warm later. Promise.

Throw in some random pizza toppings...

Next, layer about 2 cups’ worth of random pizza toppings from your fridge. I came up with some leftover onions and green bell peppers, a handful of mushrooms, a few black olives, and the aforementioned pepperoni. You can just as easily throw in ham lunchmeat, leftover sausage, diced tomatoes, green olives, even pineapple. Whatever’s rocking around in the crisper–just toss it on in.

Break up some eggs...

After spreading your toppings on top of the cheese layer, break and beat six eggs in a large measuring cup. Stir in a small amount of garlic powder, salt and oregano to taste. Pour egg over the toppings and cheese.

Add pizza sauce by the spoonful, here and there...

Next, take several spoonfuls (maybe…2/3 cup total) of pizza sauce or marinara and dollop them around the egg-covered toppings.

Use about 2/3 cup pizza sauce for the whole quiche.

You can use homemade sauce if you like; I scored a jar of zippy pizza sauce for only 67 cents at Kroger, so that’s what I used, and I had plenty leftover for using on breadsticks later.

Sprinkle another 1/2-1 cup of shredded mozzarella over the filling and add any final flourishes (oregano, surface toppings, whatever) to the quiche top.

Top with more shredded mozzarella and any additional top-layer ingredients you like.

Bake at 400 degrees for approximately 35 minutes, or until crust around the edges just barely begins to tan. Pull from oven, cool on wire rack 20 minutes, slice and serve.

Bake until cheese is beautifully browned.

Easy as pie! Er, pizza! Uh, pizza pie? Quiche! (That’s it!) Tastes heavenly–just like a deep dish, Chicago-style pizza you can actually get away for eating for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Mmm! Love it.

Pizza for breakfast? Yes, please!

4 Responses to “Amazing Recipe: Deep-Dish Pizza Pie Quiche”

  1. Tes November 24, 2010 at 6:38 AM #

    What a beautiful and colorful quiche! I love that it looks so heathy and delicious, too.
    Thanks for sharing this recipe. I am dreaming about this for breakfast right now 🙂

  2. Gracie November 24, 2010 at 9:14 AM #

    Thank you, Tes! I love that you mentioned “healthy” in your comment. Other than the Crisco in the homemade pie crust, it really can be made healthily, depending on what you throw in. I think a combination of part-skim mozzarella, some lean ham and veggies would yield quite the responsible little version of this meal. And so filling! Mmmm!

  3. Jenna November 24, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

    What a fantastic idea! Living in Chicago, my husband and I are definitely deep dish pizza people. Transforming it into a quiche is simply brilliant. Wow.

  4. Gracie November 24, 2010 at 3:53 PM #

    Thank you, Jenna! I hope you’ll try it out and let me know what toppings you use or how it comes out! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

