I’ve Got Friends in Low-Carb Places…

14 May

photo courtesy of http://edupics.com

Okay, so I totally swiped that joke from Active Low-Carber Forums (a site with tons of information and members), but it’s true.

And I’m about to join those friends again, whether I like it or not.

So…a visit to the doctor’s office yesterday didn’t go quite so well as I had hoped. Apparently, the reason I’m still experiencing post-surgical pain is because I’m a fatty.

Well…we knew that, didn’t we?

But now he’s given me a doctor’s recommendation to go on a low-carb, high protein liquid diet. Which basically means I can have either 4 liquid protein drinks a day and no other food at all, or 2 liquid protein drinks and 1 small meal (but cannot eat more than 1,000 calories total in a day, including the protein drinks and all other intake together).

This. Is. Going. To. Suck.

That said, any dieters out there who follow the Red Kitchen Blog (bless your hearts if you do, I’m such a reckless cook!) will be pleased to see that for the next couple (or more weeks) my blog posts will take on a low-carb, low-cal twist while STILL being required to follow the “must be able to purchase ALL ingredients from low-selection discount grocery stores” rule.

I’ve always complained that I can either eat healthily or eat cheaply, but when you try to mix the two, you run into the same three or four diet recipes you’ve always been stuck with until you plateau.

Hopefully, I can use my noggin and try to add a few more ideas to the stack while keeping the grocery bill from getting outrageous on me.

Stay tuned!

–Gracie

8 Responses to “I’ve Got Friends in Low-Carb Places…”

  1. Darla McKeown May 14, 2010 at 4:17 PM #

    Love it!! One of my hobbies is converting recipes to more healthy ones…..looking forward to this!

  2. Lisa B May 14, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

    Gracie,

    You can do it! My mom and I were talking the other day about the fact that Aldi’s is caring a lot more healthy items since their fit and active line. My husband and I try to follow a low fat, healthy diet. If I think of anything that fits the low carb bill, I will send it your way. Maybe you need some atkins diet books…. *smile*

  3. redforkhippie May 15, 2010 at 8:28 PM #

    I wonder how many calories you could burn by kicking your doctor’s arse? 😉

    I think the diet you’re doing is the same one Michael and Suzanne did a few years ago. It works fast, but it has a nasty yo-yo effect when you stop, so be aware of that, and don’t invite Ben and Jerry to the party when you reach your goal weight.

  4. Rheannon May 16, 2010 at 4:32 PM #

    I must agree with Emily. I’m not a fan of the low carb thing. 😦 I know you have to listen to your doctor, but just don’t go crazy. Bacon is not health food and adding it to your burger instead of tomatoes is not good. I know you’re a smart lady and will lose weight sensibly, even though I think you already look great!

  5. Gracie May 17, 2010 at 9:30 AM #

    Yeah, I never agreed with eating bacon and whole milk cheese and all the rest of the food Atkins dieters eat that is high in saturated fat. That just seems dumb. But I’ve done the South Beach Diet & induction about a million times in the past. It’s basically this: take everything you’re allowed in the Atkins phases, and then subtract anything that is fatty or tastes good. I am pretty sure this is also known as aneorexia. LOL.

  6. Gracie May 17, 2010 at 9:35 AM #

    Lisa–I’ve noticed a lot of changes at ALDI with the Fit & Active line, too. I was thinking that I might try to include a couple of product reviews, as I haven’t done many of them lately. I think the only Fit & Active product I’ve reviewed here so far was about the Weight Watchers knockoff sorbet bars (which were AWESOME):

    https://theredkitchen.wordpress.com/2009/08/31/product-feature-weight-watchers-brand-knockoff-fit-active-frozen-sorbet-bars-aldi/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Low-Carb Recipe: Sweet & Spicy Jalapeno Black Beans « The Red Kitchen Project - May 18, 2010

    […] low-carb, diet-friendly dish is one of my favorite concoctions when I’m on the bandwagon because it goes with so many other things: taco meat, lean pulled pork, cottage cheese, etc. Last […]

  2. The Red Kitchen Project » Blog Archive » Low-Carb Recipe: Sweet & Spicy Jalapeno Black Beans - February 10, 2011

    […] low-carb, diet-friendly dish is one of my favorite concoctions when I’m on the bandwagon because it goes with so many other things: taco meat, lean pulled pork, cottage cheese, etc. Last […]

Leave a Reply

