Cheap Recipe: Pan-Fried Alaskan Pollock in Browned Butter Sauce

2 Apr

For a printable version of this recipe and complete ingredients listing, click here.

Pan-fried Alaskan Pollock
This sweet and savory dish is a snap to prepare on evenings when dinner doesn’t get started on time. What a lifesaver!

I got home the other evening to find that not only had I forgotten to plan anything for dinner, I also had nothing thawed.

My eyes eventually landed on two small pouches of fish, which I knew would thaw in just a few minutes in a water-filled sink.

Alaskan Pollock (raw)

Thawing pollock fillets.

While the fish defrosted, I whipped up a tangy little marinade from this-and-that.

melted butter

Melted butter.

Hoping just to come out with something edible and with no greater expectations, imagine my surprise when Hubby gave it a four-star rating and asked when we could have it again! I have to admit, too, it was pretty dang good.

Note: The only FIVE-star rating Hubby’s ever given is for my homemade meatloaf (here are some links to printer-friendly versions of my Original Recipe & the absolutely divine Cheese-Stuffed Variation Recipe). Hubby says if that is a five, then the best

minced garlic

Minced garlic...

Dilweed...

Dilweed...

any other food in the world can ever hope to be is “almost as good as Grace’s meatloaf” (a.k.a., four stars). 🙂 Aww, shucks.

 Begin by thawing (4) 2-ounce boneless pollock (or cod/haddock) fillets. They can thaw very quickly in the sink under a small stream of running water, or in sealed packages in a large bowl of water, refreshed every few minutes.

fresh parsley

A bit of fresh parsley is lovely, but expendable.

Warm a skillet over MEDIUM burner heat. In a small bowl or spouted cup, melt about 2-3 Tbsp. butter/margarine.

Fry 4-5 minutes per side

Fry at least 4-5 minutes per side.

To the liquid butter, add 1 teaspoon minced garlic pieces and 1 teaspoon dried dillweed. Mix well. Stir in 1 tablespoon steak sauce (my heart belongs to Country Bob’s All-Purpose Sauce–click here to get a manufacturer’s coupon for a free bottle!) and if, desired, about 1 teaspoon shredded fresh parsley.

When fish is skillet-ready, pour butter mixture into pan first, immediately followed by fish. (Careful–any higher than MEDIUM heat and you’re liable to get popped at by grease!)

Keep spooning marinade from pan back on top of the fish.

Allow fish pieces to brown for 4-5 minutes per side, or until outside is brown and carmelized and inside flakes easily.

Chef’s Note: Salad tongs work best for flipping the small-sized fillets without tearing them apart prematurely.

9 Responses to “Cheap Recipe: Pan-Fried Alaskan Pollock in Browned Butter Sauce”

  1. Christina November 15, 2010 at 6:40 PM #

    This was so easy and super tasty! Everyone gobbled it up.
    Thank you for the recipe!!!!

  2. Gracie November 16, 2010 at 9:16 AM #

    Thanks for the reply, Christina — I love when someone gives me a “review” on a recipe made in their own kitchen! I hope you’ll be back. 🙂
    –Gracie

  3. Melissa December 9, 2010 at 2:41 PM #

    Can you use a BBQ sauce instead of streak sauce? I don’t really know what I’m doing, but I am trying to find a way to make this work, since I don’t have the steak sauce on hand. Anyting else I can use? Thanks!!

  4. Gracie December 9, 2010 at 2:44 PM #

    I’m sure you can. If you want to make the flavor a little bit deeper, more similar to steak sauce, try adding a few drops of either soy sauce or Tobasco to the barbecue sauce. It should come out pretty close! (Or if you have Worchestershire sauce, that would obviously be the best fix.)

  5. LazyHomemaker July 27, 2015 at 5:44 PM #

    I just made this. I baked it instead of fried(about 15 mins on 425) and I added 1/2 tsp thyme. It was SOOOO good! thank you so much for posting.

  6. Kenneth Smith February 12, 2016 at 11:40 AM #

    I recently just gave up meat and while cleaning out the freezer (the throwing out all meat products) I found a bag of frozen Pollock. Not sure if it’s still edible but I will try this recipe tonight!

    Thanks in advance!

  7. Ann Whitman April 5, 2017 at 4:38 PM #

    I cooked my polluck on a griddle because it has a reservoir so any water coming out of the fish will drain. My fish was not totally unthawed. I put a paper plate to catch the liquid drained off and dabbed with paper towel so the liquid don’t run out of the paper plate. Cooking on the griddle gave me a wider space to cook fish. I sprinkled some celery salt on each fillet and used A1 for the sauce. I’m putting the sauce on after The liquid is gone and the fish is slightly browned…otherwise my sauce would have run off!!!!

  8. Ann Whitman April 5, 2017 at 4:45 PM #

    Okay…how do you keep the fish from sticking to the pan. I sprayed my griddle with Pam but suppose it ran off with the liquid. I guess I should plan ahead and thaw the fish on a paper plate with some paper towel. I always have problems with my fish sticking..no matter what pan I use!!! Anybody got a trick!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What's the name of the Hot Dog Stands in Destin, Florida? And what kind of hotdogs are they? | Hot Dog Grill Roller - April 4, 2010

    […] Cheap Recipe: Pan-Fried Alaskan Pollock in Browned Butter Sauce … […]

Leave a Reply

