Special Guest Jana Kolpen hosts RKP’s 100th Recipe Post: Rustic French Chocolate Cake

12 Mar

 For a printable version of this recipe and complete ingredients listing, click here.

I think I could eat this without a fork...just grab a tidbit here, a morsel there, all day long...--Gracie

A note from Gracie:

Thanks to everyone who’s stopped by the Red Kitchen Project to see what’s been cooking since August 2009! As you can see, RKP is adding new recipes and new readers all of the time! Please take a minute to check out some of the “tweaking” I’ve done on the website this week, and leave a comment in this post to let me know if there’s a way I could improve the site in the future, or what you like or don’t like about its current format. By leaving a comment on this post, you are automatically entered in a drawing to win a prize! Winner will be announced Monday, March 15, 2010! And now, without further ado, I present our special guest hostess and her mouth-watering recipe of the day!

Gracie Ritter

 And a note from Jana Kolpen:

I thought this classic French chocolate cake would be a perfect way to celebrate The Red Kitchen Project and Gracie’s 100th recipe. It is not hard to make, has few ingredients and because it is so rich and dense it serves many. Enjoy!

Jana Kolpen

 

Rustic French Chocolate Cake

My dear friends in France have made this extremely rich, flourless chocolate cake for me on more then one occasion. It will bring about instant ecstasy for any chocolate lover.

And yes, Jana Kolpen DID design all of the china in these photos! Isn't she just a talented lady???

Serves up to 12

Ingredients:

8 oz. of a good quality semisweet chocolate. I have also used bittersweet.

1 cup of sweet unsalted butter

1 cup of sugar

4 large eggs, separated

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Grease a 9 inch spring form pan with butter.

Parchment paper.

Put a non-stick disc of paper at the bottom of the pan.

Melty, gooey, drippy chocolate...mmmmm...

Break the chocolate into small pieces and melt with the butter over simmering water in a double boiler. Stir to make sure it is completely mixed. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

Beat the egg yolks with half of the sugar until it is a pale yellow.

Fold the melted chocolate and butter mixture into the egg

So simple and yet so decadent...

and sugar mixture.

Beat egg whites with an electric mixer for a few minutes until frothy and then gradually add the rest of the sugar until stiff peaks form.

I would like it noted that you never see photos like this of my oventop. That is because it is nowhere near as flawlessly clean as Jana Kolpen's. I do believe she has house elves. --G.

Gently fold the egg whites into the chocolate mixture until it is thoroughly mixed.

Pour into the cake pan and place on the center rack of the oven.

Bake for approximately 40-45 minutes or until a wooden tooth pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

When the cake comes out of the oven the center will gradually sink which is to be expected.

Man, I wish that Pfaltzgraff pedestal cake plate wasn't retired!

Carefully remove the cake from the pan and transfer to a cake plate.

Serve warm or at room temperature. It is even better the next day if it lasts that long.

Sometimes I serve homemade whipped cream on the side. (Click here for RKP’s easy recipe for Whipped Cream!)

Postscript from Gracie: Thank you, again, Ms. Kolpen, for sharing your delicious recipe with us! I cannot wait to try it out at my house, and I know several readers who will be drooling over the rich, chocolatey goodness in your photos! (And it looks great on that Pistoulet dinnerware!)

5 Responses to “Special Guest Jana Kolpen hosts RKP’s 100th Recipe Post: Rustic French Chocolate Cake”

  1. Rheannon March 12, 2010 at 4:02 PM #

    I love your site! I would like more pictures of your cutie pie kids, but that’s not really about cooking 🙂 Thanks for the recipes.

  2. Gracie March 12, 2010 at 4:23 PM #

    Awww, I have to stop myself from posting pics of the boys with EVERY post, don’t-cha-know? 🙂 Sure sounds good to hear someone else say that, though! 🙂

    I never checked after the last contest…did you receive your prize in the mail? (I was busy giving birth to one of those cutie pie kids and forgot to follow up. LOL)

  3. redforkhippie March 12, 2010 at 10:18 PM #

    I bet you could gild the lily something fierce if you boiled some sweetened condensed milk until it started to brown and thicken and poured it over the top.

  4. Rheannon March 14, 2010 at 5:54 PM #

    I did get my prize. I love it! Thanks.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Exclusive Giveaway: FREE Pfaltzgraff Pistoulet china service for EIGHT to one lucky RKP reader! « The Red Kitchen Project - June 2, 2010

    […] of the wonderful friendship with Ms. Kolpen that this website has serendipitously blessed me with, Pfaltzgraff is honoring this […]

Leave a Reply

