November Contest Winner!

4 Nov

Congratulations go to Rheannon, whose name was drawn for this month’s giveaway, a copy of The Secrets of Pistoulet by Jana Kolpen!

IMG_4548

An autographed copy of this cookbook for our lucky winner, Rheannon!

I also have a surprise to announce, as well–it just so happens that Ms. Kolpen herself has upped the prize since I first posted this contest on Monday. She has graciously offered to personally autograph this book for our winner! What a classy gal!

So congrats again go to lucky reader Rheannon! I’ll be sending this book off right away to the author for a personalized autograph, and then on to its winner!

And now, I will leave you all with Rheannon’s contest entry on the most magical food she’s ever eaten–and make sure you’re not drinking something when you read this, because it’s pretty hilarious, which just goes to prove that you never know where, when, or under what ridiculous conditions a bit of culinary magic might strike!

“The most magical food I’ve ever eaten was a Frosty Float on my wedding day. I was a little nervous and had already taken about 100 immodium tablets, if you know what I mean. My stomach was just a wreck. I went to Wendy’s with my best friend, and bridesmaid, Candace and my husband’s sister, also a bridesmaid. I got a frosty float and some lunch. I do not remember what I ate but that frosty float made all my tummy troubles disappear. The rest of the day was happy and immodium- free! The ice cream and soda combination was just the special combination I needed to get through the best day of my life. Thanks for the chance to share!”

–Rheannon

No, Rheannon, thank you! 🙂 And special thanks to all of the RKP readers who entered this month’s contest! Keep checking back for more prizes in the future and great recipes in the meantime!

One Response to “November Contest Winner!”

  1. Emily November 4, 2009 at 4:44 PM #

    Go, Rheannon! I didn’t have time to enter the contest, but I’ve had a lot of magical meals. There is a restaurant in Tulsa called Evelyn’s. It’s way up on the north side of town, near the airport, and it’s only open from 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday, which basically means I can’t eat there unless it’s Christmas break or summer or something.

    One day last winter, the superintendent canceled school for an ice storm, so of course my first order of business was to slide right up to Evelyn’s for lunch. As luck would have it, we arrived just after the lady who runs the kitchen had made chicken and dumplings. This is an extremely rare occurrence, but SO wonderful when it happens. Her chicken and dumplings tasted exactly like Mom’s. I’m actually thinking of calling her this week to see if we can order a special batch for Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

