Contest Giveaway: “The Secrets of Pistoulet” Enchanted Cookbook!

2 Nov
6194HT0Q9VL__SL500_AA240_

Want to win this book? It's easy!

In honor of site traffic being up a whopping SEVENTY PERCENT (70%) during the month of October, I’ve decided to take my inspiration from author/designer Jana Kolpen’s recent benevolence to this site and pay it forward!

Starting now and ending Wednesday (Nov. 4) at 12:00 NOON (CST), you can enter to win your very own copy of the magical cookbook that started it all and inspired this very website!

If you’re a regular guest of the Red Kitchen, you’ve probably already seen at least one of my “Pistoulet posts.” But, if you haven’t, and are interested in learning more about this line of curious cookbooks and matching Pfatlzgraff china patterns, you can find more links at the end of this post.

And now for the official contest rules and information:

To enter for your chance to win a copy of The Secrets of Pistoulet, all you need to do is enter a comment on this post answering the question: “What is the most magical thing you’ve ever eaten?”

“Magical” may mean that you had a wonderful, unrelated moment WHILE eating the aforementioned food, or it may mean that something tasted so perfectly delicious it seemed like it must have CONTAINED a magical ingredient, or it MIGHT even mean that while you were eating this food, you felt as though you’d been instantly cured, comforted or otherwise mysteriously altered while consuming its powerful qualities.

This is a contest purely for having fun, for reminiscing, for thinking like a fairy tale, and for finding new inspirations along the quest for the perfect tabletop on a dime. So please, do share your story or memory!!

Have fun with this one, everybody, and be sure to post your comment to enter to win this delightful book! Winner will be announced Wednesday afternoon, so be sure to check back!

To view the Red Kitchen product feature of The Secrets of Pistoulet Pfaltzgraff line, click here.

To view the Red Kitchen feature on author/designer Jana Kolpen, click here.

To read more about Jana’s books, click here.

To view the Pistoulet Pfaltzgraff line, click here.

To visit the “vine-covered website” of Jana Kolpen, click here.

 

IMG_4557

Let the landscape of Pistoulet inspire your cuisine...AND thoughts!

13 Responses to “Contest Giveaway: “The Secrets of Pistoulet” Enchanted Cookbook!”

  1. Linda November 2, 2009 at 2:11 PM #

    Gee, that’s a tough question. Although they have no magical properties of which I am aware, Meringue Mushrooms make me think of enchanted forests, fairy houses, and frogs that turn into princes when kissed in the moonlight. I guess part of the reason they’re so special is because we only make them once a year even though they’re not all that hard to make.

    There is one other food that could be considered magical, whose aroma has the power to transport me back to my mother’s kitchen in the late fifties–fried green tomatoes and onions. This is not the standard sliced, battered and fried green tomatoes, but rather a concoction that’s chopped, floured and stir-fried. She called it by-ishey. That’s probably not the right spelling, and I have never seen a recipe for it anywhere. I make it once or twice a year, but I’ve never been able to entirely replicate Mom’s. You chop the green tomatoes into half or three-quarter inch pieces and add a teaspoon of salt. Cover the bowl with a plate or something and let it set out on the counter all day, or at least 3 hours. When you’re ready to cook, drain and discard the liquid, chop a medium-to-large onion into the bowl, add half a cup of flour or so, and mix until everything is coated with the flour. Dump it all into a hot iron skillet that has shortening or oil covering the bottom and stir vigorously for a few minutes until the tomatoes have lost their bright green coloring, the onions are translucent, and the flour is browned. Serve immediately. Bacon makes a nice accompaniment.

  2. Cheryl November 2, 2009 at 2:15 PM #

    The most magical thing I have ever eaten was Corned Beef and Cabbage. Now I have had many O’ pots of Corned Beef and Cabbage, as it is my favorite comfort food. But this particular time, it was made by a very elderly English woman. I am not sure what she put in it, but I will never be able to duplicate it, and now eating my recipe just doesn’t hit the spot that hers did.

    Thanks for the chance at winning this wonderful book.

  3. Rheannon November 2, 2009 at 3:35 PM #

    The most magical food I’ve ever eaten was a Frosty Float on my wedding day. I was a little nervous and had already taken about 100 immodium tablets, if you know what I mean. My stomach was just a wreck. I went to Wendy’s with my best friend, and bridesmaid, Candace and my husband’s sister, also a bridesmaid. I got a frosty float and some lunch. I do not remember what I ate but that frosty float made all my tummy troubles disappear. The rest of the day was happy and immodium- free! The ice cream and soda combination was just the special combination I needed to get through the best day of my life. Thanks for the chance to share!

  4. Gracie November 2, 2009 at 3:36 PM #

    Interesting! Corned Beef and Cabbage would definitely be in my top 3 list, too! I have heard of people putting fennel seed and/or caraway in theirs, and though I’ve never tried it that way, I wonder if maybe THAT was part of the secret flavor???

    Welcome to RKP, Cheryl!

  5. Gracie November 2, 2009 at 3:37 PM #

    OMG, Rheannon–I just blew a piece of Almond Joy out my nose laughing at your wedding day filled with Immodium. LOL. I would say a cure-all Frosty Float is definitely magical, even if it came from Wendy’s. Just like Fraggle Holes, you never know where you’ll discover a magical meal!

  6. Alyssa November 2, 2009 at 6:25 PM #

    I would say not only was my meal magical, but I was in a magical location as well. It was when I studied abroad in Grenoble, France and we decided to go up to Paris for the weekend. One of the days we took the train to Versailles to spend the day in the Garden. Before going in we found a quaint little bakery. We went inside and decided to try a few quiche lorraine with a bottle of wine (or two, or three). So there we were lazily laying in the Garden where Marie Antoinette used to walk through, eating, drinking, and people watching. Now even though this already seems like a wonderful day, I think my favorite part was biting into that quiche. It had lardon (bacon- but not the way we know bacon) and some type of fromage (cheese), spices, and more deliciousness. I was definitely on cloud nine!

  7. Shaw Ritter November 2, 2009 at 8:41 PM #

    Your gift looks like a great cookbook, although I’m not worthy of it — my best cuisine these days comes from a TV dinner box. Nevertheless, I will share my most magical recipe: my Mom’s “cream pie.” It was a wonderful concoction inherited from my grandmother, and Dad swore that after tasting that pie (at Grandma’s) he decided on the spot to marry Mom. But poor Mom had never made one. Not wanting to disappoint Dad (after they were married), she asked her mother for the recipe. But Grandma was one of those “Bit of this and bit of that” cooks, and the directions were sketchy. When Mom tried it at home, it was a dismal, runny failure, so she threw it in the garbage can before Dad got home. But later that night, he emptied the garbage and found the discarded pie.
    Eventually, Mom learned to make Cream Pie, but Dad never let her forget that first sloppy failure. He teased her about it for years, claiming that if he’d known she couldn’t make Cream Pie, he never would have married her.
    Mom never had a recipe for the pie, and when she died, the pie died with her. I never could duplicate it, and neither could my sisters.
    It was delicious, and we have always wished we could create one. Besides tasting good, it brought back a lot of memories for all of us, and laughter from days gone by!

  8. Eve November 2, 2009 at 10:50 PM #

    The most magical food I have ever eaten are these fudge brownies I got from a college campus I went to. They were so gooey and just delicious. Not dry at all. They left me wanting more and the piece was huge.

  9. Gracie November 3, 2009 at 9:21 AM #

    I am really enjoying these stories about magical food so far! I wasn’t sure what would turn up with a challenge like this one, but these are great!! Thanks everyone who’s posted so far! I’m loving the different ways food has been “magical” for RKP guests!!

  10. Cheryl November 3, 2009 at 9:14 PM #

    I love food, so deciding on one really “magical” food was tough. I have more than one.
    New England clam chowder! So creamy, warm, and comforting…I love to make a big pot so we can graze on it all day, go out and play in the snow and come back in and eat some more. Mmm.
    Stuffed mushrooms. So Good, but such a pain to make I do not make them often. Only for special occasions. And that makes them special. Good friends, family sharing good food and conversation. Stuffed mushrooms and good times. lol
    Thanks Gracie.
    See you tomorrow.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cheap Recipe: Cheesy Artichoke Dip « The Red Kitchen Project - November 3, 2009

    […] Cheap Recipe: Cheesy Artichoke Dip 2009 November 3 tags: Appetizers, artichokes, Cheap Recipes, Cheese, dip, Party Dishes, Sour Cream, spinach by Gracie ***THERE’S STILL TIME LEFT TO ENTER THE NOVEMBER CONTEST/GIVEAWAY! CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE AN… […]

  2. November Contest Winner! « The Red Kitchen Project - November 4, 2009

    […] The Secrets of Pistoulet by Gracie Congratulations go to Rheannon, whose name was drawn for this month’s giveaway, a copy of The Secrets of Pistoulet by Jana Kolpen! An autographed copy of this cookbook for our […]

  3. The Red Kitchen Project » Blog Archive » Cheap Recipe: Cheesy Artichoke Dip - February 10, 2011

    […] ***THERE’S STILL TIME LEFT TO ENTER THE NOVEMBER CONTEST/GIVEAWAY! CLICK HERE TO LEARN MORE AN… […]

Leave a Reply

