Reverse Fan Mail at the Red Kitchen!

22 Oct
This made my day, my week, my month...

This little note just made my day, my week, my month...

A few weeks ago I posted that I had sent some fan mail to my favorite

The Secrets of Pistoulet.

The Secrets of Pistoulet.

 cookbook author and china designer, Jana Kolpen, and actually gotten an email reply which excited me to no end.

Imagine my glee when a package showed up on my doorstep last week containing gifts from the benevolent Mademoiselle J herself!

I was having the worst day, and this showed up just

IMG_4568

An autographed dish! (See the flip side of this dish further below.)

when I needed it most, in the typical fashion of Pistoulet miracles. 🙂

Inside the package was: a sweet note from Ms. Kolpen about this website, an AUTOGRAPHED COPY of her first book, The Secrets of Pistoulet, and…(drumroll)…an actual SIGNED piece of china from the Pistoulet line that I didn’t already have but had been drooling over on Pfaltzgraff’s website ever since it hit stores!

Autographed!

Autographed!

Needless to say, I did a little dance of joy when I unwrapped my gifts. I was speechless! What a sweet, sweet person Jana Kolpen is! I would have been thrilled beyond words just with her sweet note, and yet she sent me a whole package of delightful gifts!

She’s a famous lady, and could just ignore fan mail if she wanted to, or send a stock reply back and be done with it, but no! She is an encourager to her innermost core, and her wonderful gift to me was just exactly like something out of one her books, which are all about random acts of love

Hidden notes and recipes inside the pages of Pistoulet.

Hidden notes and recipes inside the pages of Pistoulet.

and kindness–particularly her third and latest cookbook, Circle of Kindness, which is

Pretty pages.

Pretty pages.

 set in Ireland and is rapidly becoming my favorite of the three. (If I didn’t already have a pile of Pistoulet dinnerware, I’d be stocking my cabinets with CoK pattern pieces!)

So anyway, this post today doesn’t have much else of a point except to say what a blessing it is that there are such positive role models out there as Ms. Kolpen, and that I absolutely love finding out that someone famous is just as wonderful and classy in real life as I’d always imagined they would be.

Who could turn down a salad on this beautiful dish?

Who could turn down a salad on this beautiful dish?

I hope you’ll all have a blessed day, and be surrounded by warmth and encouragement in your own daily adventures.

 And thanks again, Ms. Kolpen, for inspiring this young cook and writer; it has made all the difference in the world!

5 Responses to “Reverse Fan Mail at the Red Kitchen!”

  1. Kim October 27, 2009 at 10:32 AM #

    How cool is that?! I hope she has a chance to stop by your wonderful cooking website and see your recipes.
    What a beautiful piece of dinnerware. So cheery!

    • Gracie October 27, 2009 at 11:50 AM #

      Aww. Thanks! I’m so happy people are reading these posts! If you make anything on a post, be sure to comment and tell me how it came out (good or bad)!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contest Giveaway: “The Secrets of Pistoulet” Enchanted Cookbook! « The Red Kitchen Project - November 2, 2009

    […] To view the Red Kitchen feature on author/designer Jana Kolpen, click here. […]

  2. Exclusive Giveaway: FREE Pfaltzgraff Pistoulet china service for EIGHT to one lucky RKP reader! « The Red Kitchen Project - June 2, 2010

    […] of the wonderful friendship with Ms. Kolpen that this website has serendipitously blessed me with, Pfaltzgraff is honoring this star-struck kitchen hostess by letting me award one lucky RKP reader […]

  3. The Red Kitchen Project » Blog Archive » Exclusive Giveaway: FREE Pfaltzgraff Pistoulet china service for EIGHT to one lucky RKP reader! - February 10, 2011

    […] of the wonderful friendship with Ms. Kolpen that this website has serendipitously blessed me with, Pfaltzgraff is honoring this star-struck kitchen hostess by letting me award one lucky RKP reader […]

Leave a Reply

