Cheap Recipe: Easy Skillet-Glazed Ham Steak

20 Oct
For a printable version of this recipe and complete ingredients listing, click here.    

How delicious does this look for a quickie weeknight meal?

How delicious does this look for a quickie weeknight meal?

This is seriously the best ham I have ever eaten. I am sure of this because I do not like ham, not one little bit. But I LOVED this when I made it last night.

I think the reason I generally stay away from ham steaks is because after serving them right under my nose for years at Cracker Barrel, the first thing I notice about them is that sort of briney, fatty, overcured smell (and flavor) they so often come with. Ugh. I hate that smell.

Also, because I’ve never been much of a ham eater, I had no idea how to prepare ham, either, so I’ve generally stayed away from making it for my family in an attempt to save face in case I botched it.

This giant ham center cost me only $2.67!

This giant ham center cost me only $2.67!

But in this economy, I decided that any meat that sells for under $3.00 a pound and isn’t ground burger is worthy of revisiting, even if I don’t think I like it. This time, it was SO

Start ham steaks browning in butter while glaze is cooking in saucepan.

Start ham steaks browning in butter while glaze simmers.

 worth my while, and the prepareation couldn’t have been simpler! Oh, and the finished product had not even a HINT of that sour, salty smell or flavor I feared going in.

Begin by melting 2 or 3 tablespoons butter/margarine in a deep skillet over medium heat. Do not let heat in skillet ever exceed medium to keep glaze from sticking or burning later.

Slice a 1-lb. center-cut ham steak into desired number of pieces and lay flat in

Spicy mustard, apricot jelly and pineapple are all you need!

Spicy mustard, apricot jelly and pineapple are all you need!

 skillet.

Into a small saucepan, drain the juice from an 8-ounce can of pineapple slices (reserve the actual

It will take the glaze ingredients a few minutes to break down together.

It will take the glaze ingredients a few minutes to break down together.

pineapple rings). To the juice, add 2 tablespoons jelly (I used apricot but apple would work) and 1/2 tablespoon spicy mustard. Stir the three ingredients over medium heat until smooth (this may take a few minutes).

Meanwhile, turn the buttered ham steaks as needed. Once the glaze is smooth, lay the actual pineapple slices down in the pan with the ham and pour the contents of the saucepan over the steaks and pineapple.

Keep skillet heat at medium. Turn often and allow to simmer for several minutes, or until ham begins to have a golden tint to it.

Pour the glaze over the ham and pineapple and let simmer.

Pour the glaze over the ham and pineapple and let simmer.

This glaze is ready to go!

This glaze is ready to go!

Serve ham steaks immediately topped with the pineapple rings. Spoon additional glaze over the steaks if desired.

A cheap can of bean salad and a couple microwaved sweet potatoes turn this simple creation into an attractive and satisfying meal! Our whole dinner, sides included, cost less than six dollars to make and tasted like a million bucks! The ham was SO juicy and tender…mmm!

I wish I had made more...

I wish I had made more...

I am a ham-hater no more! Yes, I like them, Sam I Am!

Leave a Reply

