Giveaway Contest and Ingredient Challenge!

1 Oct
This is the niftiest reference guide! I learn something every time I open it!

This is the niftiest reference guide! I learn something every time I open it!

In honor of doubling the Red Kitchen Project’s site traffic in Month 2 (September), I’m proud to announce today’s post is a contest!

Since autumn’s coming on strong and it’s time to harvest and dry your garden edibles for winter use, I decided to choose a prize that inspires that deep down herbalist in all of us!

The prize is this lovely copy of The Herb and Spice Companion. It’s chock full of information on every herb you can think of, from origin to growth habit to common uses, plus lots of trivia.

This is a handy (and very attractive, I might add!) reference guide to keep on the shelf both for gardening and cooking purposes. Every entry has beautiful photos and easy-to-spot headings, making it perfect for both quick look-ups and leisurely perusals alike.

All you have to do to enter this contest is write in the comment section of this post what ingredient you’d like to see me use in a recipe over the weekend. (Ingredient must be widely available at grocery stores, as per usual RKP recipe rules!)

Judge Jamie (pictured wearing his Mardi Gras beads and holding a giant sack of candy. Apparently, this judge can be bribed...)

Judge Jamie (pictured wearing his Mardi Gras beads and holding a giant sack of candy. Apparently, this judge can be bribed...)

All entries (comments) must be in by noon CST tomorrow (Friday the 2nd). Entrant names and ingredients will be written on popsicle sticks and drawn from a box. (High-tech. That’s how I roll.)

Winner will be chosen at random by my two-year-old, Jamie (I cannot think of any method that could possibly be more random than Jamie’s brain), and announced by the end of the day Monday along with a recipe post of whatever mystery ingredient I have to use!

If you are the winner, please respond by Friday the 9th to claim your prize!

Happy harvesting, and good luck in the contest!!

–Gracie

15 Responses to “Giveaway Contest and Ingredient Challenge!”

  1. Kim October 1, 2009 at 11:16 AM #

    What a great cookbook! And this is a great website. The recipes are mouth-watering, and the commentary always makes me laugh. But now my guilty secret… I haven’t been to Aldi’s! However, you have inspired me to make a visit and check out this store. But as to an ingredient, I will have to guess; how about beans? Surely they have beans of some sort? I’ll let you choose the kind of beans.

  2. Linda October 1, 2009 at 11:17 AM #

    I realize that as your mama, I am probably disqualified from the contest and that’s okay, but I’d like to see a recipe that includes cocoa in a dish that is NOT sweet. We’ve used it for years in our homemade chili, but I’ve always thought it would be perfect for adding richness and probably color to other dishes as well. Go for it, Dolly!

  3. Rheannon October 1, 2009 at 1:27 PM #

    I think it would be great to see a recipe using canned chili in an exciting new way. It’s turning colder, even here in Georgia, and chili is a great fall dish but it gets boring after a while! Thanks. I hope I win. If I add this comment 100 times will I be more likely to win?

  4. Talitha Fisher October 1, 2009 at 6:16 PM #

    I would like to see you use green peppers. I looove cooking with green peppers. Yuuuuum!!! Love you Gracie

  5. redforkhippie October 1, 2009 at 6:32 PM #

    Grits.

  6. redforkhippie October 1, 2009 at 6:33 PM #

    If you can’t find grits at your local Aldi, drive 60 miles south. They’ll be there. You can bet on it.

  7. Cheryl October 1, 2009 at 10:27 PM #

    How about a savory recipe for butternut squash. Most recipes that include butternut squash are sweet.
    I have a great recipe for cubed butternut, Italian sausage, onion, peppers, and chicken broth. It is great!
    I would like to have more savory butternut squash recipes.
    Come up with a good one Gracie.

  8. redforkhippie October 2, 2009 at 6:27 PM #

    Chicken-fried butternut squash: Make it so.

  9. Gracie October 2, 2009 at 7:50 PM #

    You can’t use Picard’s catch phrase unless the recipe also calls for Earl Grey.

    Or Romulan Ale.

    Either one.

  10. Melanie October 3, 2009 at 12:07 AM #

    Avocado.

  11. redforkhippie October 4, 2009 at 3:28 PM #

    Fine. Beer-batter the squash with Romulan Ale.

  12. Gracie October 5, 2009 at 10:30 AM #

    Ugh. Then it would be blue.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cheap Recipe: Southern Grits with Sea Scallops (Ingredient Challenge Winner!) « The Red Kitchen Project - October 5, 2009

    […] have a winner from the Ingredient Challenge Contest! Congrats to Emily, whose ingredient (grits) was drawn for my ingredient challenge! And, so the rest […]

  2. Cheap Recipe: Pork Chop Casserole « The Red Kitchen Project - October 8, 2009

    […] am posting the recipe this week because it also fulfills another of the Ingredient Challenge submissions, to use butternut squash playing a savory role in a recipe. Cheryl, my coworker who submitted that […]

  3. The Red Kitchen Project » Blog Archive » Cheap Recipe: Quick Pork Chop Casserole - February 10, 2011

    […] am posting the recipe this week because it also fulfills another of the Ingredient Challenge submissions, to use butternut squash playing a savory role in a recipe. Cheryl, my coworker who submitted that […]

Leave a Reply

