Cheap Recipe: Cheesy Bacon & Tomato Soup

2 Sep

For a printable version of this recipe and complete ingredients listing, click here.

Dress up this soup with some cookie-cutter grilled cheese sandwiches.

Dress up this soup with some cookie-cutter grilled cheese sandwiches.

The weather has been so brisk and chilly in the last couple of weeks, I couldn’t wait to break out the china tureens and celebrate an early blast of “soup weather.”

I love soup. Soup-soupy-soup. Doesn’t matter what kind as long as it’s warm and makes me feel all fuzzy and happy when I eat it.

This recipe is a great go-to recipe when you don’t have time to let your soup simmer half a day before serving. Grilled cheese sandwiches make a perfect sidekick, especially if you’re as goofy as I am and insist on cutting them into entertaining shapes before eating them.

Or for an easier route, serve with those delicious chicken-flavored crackers (like Chicken-In-A-Biskit) for a real zing! Or if you’re doing Atkins or South Beach, you can substitute artificial sweetner for the small amount of sugar and skip crackers & bread in favor of topping it with mozzarella cheese instead.

That pink bacon needs to cook longer.

That pink bacon needs to cook longer.

Begin by preheating a pot over medium high heat. Chop 1 onion and 4-6 slices bacon and throw in the pot with a little butter or margarine (I use turkey bacon so I have to increase the amount of butter by a little…I used about 3 tablespoons). Cook 10-15 minutes, stirring often, until bacon bits look thoroughly cooked.

Next, add 1 can chicken or veggie broth and bring to simmer. Mix in 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon basil and salt/pepper to taste.

Stir in two large, undrained cans of tomatoes (I used petite diced). Reduce heat and return to simmer (uncovered) for 10 minutes.

I started the grilled cheese sandwiches right after I added the tomatoes to the pot. Everything came out on time.

Naked cheese sandwiches.

Sprinkle in about 1/3 cup grated parmesan cheese and stir well. Simmer a few more minutes. Lace with cream or half-and-half if desired. Serve immediately or simmer over low heat until needed.

I lace my soup with half-and-half to thicken the texture.

I lace my soup with half-and-half to thicken the texture.

Soup always tastes better out of a funky tureen.

Soup always tastes better out of a funky tureen.

Leave a Reply

