Product Feature: (Weight Watchers Brand Knockoff) Fit & Active Frozen Sorbet Bars (ALDI)

31 Aug
Oh, heavenly knockoffs! My search is finally over...

Oh, heavenly knockoffs! My search is finally over...

I'm never paying full price again!

I'm never paying full price again!

 While poking around ALDI on my lunch hour the other day, I discovered something I never thought I’d see–a perfect replica of my favorite frozen treat on the planet for not only a dollar less per box, but also available in one-flavor boxes. (Finger pointing

I could eat all six of these in one sitting...

I could eat all six of these in one sitting...

 to heaven) Someone up there loves me!!!

So…here’s the story. A couple of years ago, I discovered Weight Watchers Brand frozen sorbet & ice cream bars at my local grocery store and immediately fell in love with the Wildberry flavored ones. Healthy food or not, these are just dang tasty bars. The problem was, Weight Watchers brand products run kind of pricey, and it was costing more than four bucks for a six-pack of these things.

See how big they are? That's a grown man's hand! (Thanks to my boss, Darin, for stylishly hand-modeling these pops.)

See how big they are? That's a grown man's hand! (Thanks to my boss, Darin, for stylishly hand-modeling these pops.)

PLUS, Weight Watchers only makes them in boxes with 3 Wildberry bars and 3 Orange bars. I’ve never been a Creamsicle fan, so the orange ones often sat in my fridge, abandoned until they got old and were pitched. But the Wildberry ones were so good, I often bought a box anyway just for the 3 bars in the package I did like. Four bucks for three frozen bars is pretty steep, so they were a luxury item when I occasionally bought them.

Enter ALDI and their replica version of these bars. Available in a six-pack of all-Wildberry OR a six-pack of all-Orange, they’re even a dollar cheaper than the Weight Watchers brand and taste EXACTLY the same. They’re also as gigantic as the regular Weight Watchers brand (about twice as thick as regular ice cream or fudge bars!), and have the same basic nutritional information as WW brand.

(Sigh.) I am in love.

3 Responses to “Product Feature: (Weight Watchers Brand Knockoff) Fit & Active Frozen Sorbet Bars (ALDI)”

  1. Linda August 31, 2009 at 1:05 PM #

    I hope Darrin got to keep the treat and didn’t have to give it back.

  2. Gracie August 31, 2009 at 1:23 PM #

    Oh, Mom. I’m not that mean.

    And for the record, he also thinks these pops are bitchin’. 🙂

  3. Tammy October 28, 2009 at 6:40 PM #

    I thought I recognized that hand!!

Leave a Reply

