Cheap Recipe: Apple-Sauerkraut Stew

18 Aug
For a printable version of this recipe, click here. 

IMG_3710We’re used to eating a lot of “kraut & weenies” around our house. My German Hubby could eat sauerkraut right out of the can seven days a week if he had to. I usually just fry some sausage in the skillet and heat the kraut on the side, and that’s dinner. But after a heavy day of coffee-drinking yesterday, I was a little leary of such an acidic dinner. So, I took the opportunity to dabble with a recipe from Taste of Home’s Dinner on a Dime cookbook, alter it to my liking, and wound up with a marvelously toned-down version that ate like a rich, hearty stew rather than just a couple of quick-fix dinner items. The resulting meal still tasted like kraut, but the apples and onions muted the extra acidity quite a bit without masking any flavors. Deee-licious!

The onions should become yellower and more translucent before other ingredients are added.

The onions should become yellower and more translucent before other ingredients are added.

Begin by halving a sweet onion longwise and then slicing the halves into slivers. Saute over medium heat with a little butter for about fifteen minutes, or until the onions are just starting to brown a little. While onions are cooking, take a couple

I sliced the apples to resemble smallish French fries.

I sliced the apples to resemble smallish French fries.

 of apples (I used Red Delicious) and chop them into small (but not tiny) slivers. The original recipe called for shredding them, but I wanted to maintain a discernible texture from the already-shredded sauerkraut so I chopped mine instead.

Next, slice a package of cheap smoked sausage (I bought turkey sausage–it’s generally about a buck cheaper than regular, and I seriously can’t tell the difference) into small, bite-

Turkey sausage. If you don't tell them, they won't know it.

Turkey sausage. If you don't tell them, they won't know it.

sized rounds. Drain a 14-oz. can of sauerkraut and add to the cooked onions, along with the apples and sausage pieces. Pour apple juice over the whole mixture. The recipe called for 1/2 cup apple juice, but when

This didn't look like nearly enough juice, so I took some liberties.

This didn't look like nearly enough juice, so I took some liberties.

 I measured it, it really didn’t look like a whole lot, so I wound up using closer to a cup-and-a-half of juice.

Simmer the mixture over medium heat for at least fifteen minutes. Mine went closer to half an hour because I got distracted changing out Elmo videos and refilling a toddler’s milk in the middle of the process, so I was really glad I’d added that extra juice to boil away. So, it’s good to know you’ve got some wiggle room with this dish–it doesn’t have to go straight on the table and get eaten immediately if your evening doesn’t turn out that neatly. 🙂

While it simmers, leave the room and come back in. The sudden delicious aroma will make your knees wobble.

While it simmers, leave the room and come back in. The sudden delicious aroma will make your knees wobble.

Serve in stew bowls or covered individual casserole dishes. This “stew” would be absolutely divine with homemade cornbread. I wish I’d thought of that before I started. A brown-and-serve loaf worked fine for us in the end, but man, was I thinking about cornbread while I ate and kicking myself for not making any!

Oh, and this dish reheats BEAUTIFULLY, so be sure to save some in the fridge to take to work with you. The beauty of the added apple and onion flavors is that the sauerkraut loses that kick of pungency in the process–so you won’t have to worry about being that jerk at work that heated up something in the microwave that smells like a fart in the breakroom! When else can you say that for sauerkraut???

And on THAT note, well…enjoy! 🙂

IMG_3705

2 Responses to “Cheap Recipe: Apple-Sauerkraut Stew”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cheap Recipe: Honey-Glazed Carrots « The Red Kitchen Project - May 11, 2010

    […] somewhat sour or bitter dishes as my main course. Good examples include Corned Beef with Cabbage, Apple-Sauerkraut Stew and traditional Bavarian […]

  2. The Red Kitchen Project » Blog Archive » Cheap Recipe: Honey-Glazed Carrots - February 10, 2011

    […] somewhat sour or bitter dishes as my main course. Good examples include Corned Beef with Cabbage, Apple-Sauerkraut Stew and traditional Bavarian […]

Leave a Reply

