Cheap Recipe: Easy Dessert Pizza

17 Aug

For a printable version of this recipe, click here.

Steal the other potluckers' thunder with this eye-dazzler.

Steal the other potluckers' thunder with this eye-dazzler.

I concocted this on a lark over the weekend after some kiwis and strawberries I’d purchased on sale turned out to be sour as all get out! I  remembered seeing something like this at a Pampered Chef party several years ago but couldn’t remember how it was made. So, I just sort of played it by ear and came up with my own variation.

The previously sour fruit was perfectly foiled in this dessert and the resulting cut fruit was sweet as pie by the time I served it. Plus, it looked really cool. A warning, though–it was really sweet. If your sweet tooth isn’t quite as out-of-control as mine, you might want to cut the frosting with straight-up cream cheese. Or just put your big girl panties on and get over it, wussy.

You can prepare your own sugar cookie dough if you're not the lazy ass I am.

You can prepare your own sugar cookie dough if you're not the lazy ass I am.

Begin by preheating oven to 375 degrees. Lightly flour a pizza stone (or round pizza pan if you haven’t got a stone), and place either 1 tube of store-bought sugar cookie dough or about half a batch of homemade sugar cookie dough (enough to make about 30 cookies) in a round ball in the center of the stone.

Flour dough ball and hands; begin working dough outward to cover the stone in a layer about 1/4″ thick. You can use a rolling pin, but it doesn’t really matter because it’s getting covered up in the end. I just used my fingers.

I learned the hard way that you should leave about 1″ exposed rim around the edge of your pizza stone or pan to accommodate dough expansion in the oven.* Otherwise, the dough drips down on your heating element and starts a fire in the bottom of the oven the next time you try to use it!

(Hubby had a shock last night when he tried to heat up a frozen pizza and burning sugar set the entire oven on fire! I am happy to report, however, Hubby still has both of his eyebrows and most of the hair on his arms…)

*Since the edge I left the dough was nowhere near 1″, I wound up just cutting off the overzealous cookie edges after I pulled it out of the oven. It worked fine.

If I'd actually been using my brain, I might've thought to leave a 1" edge around the dough, but...that's why they call it a "test kitchen."

If I'd actually been using my brain, I might've thought to leave a 1" edge around the dough, but...that's why they call it a "test kitchen."

Anyway…pop the flattened circle of dough (your pizza’s “crust”) into the oven for about 12-15 minutes, or as long as it can go without the top overbrowning. While the crust is baking, slice fruit (I just used strawberries and kiwi because they were cheap and in season, but you could use any kind of fruit here).

Slice the fruit pretty thin so it will overlap nicely without making the pizza too tall.

Slice the fruit pretty thinly so it will overlap nicely without making the pizza too tall.

When removing the baked crust from the oven, some spots may have risen quite a bit. You should be able to use your fingers to “tap down” the tall spots if you do it immediately after baking.

Allow the crust to cool (Mine spent about 20-30 minutes in the fridge to speed this up).

It's okay if the middle of the crust is still a tiny bit warm or if the pizza stone underneath is still warm, as long as it's not "hot." A little warmth will help make the frosting spreadable.

It's okay if the pizza stone underneath is still warm, as long as it's not "hot." A little warmth will help smooth the frosting.

Once crust is cool (just enough that it won’t totally melt the frosting), spread cream cheese frosting (I used the canned kind because, again, I am lazy) on the top of the baked crust. It’s a good idea at this point to go ahead and slice the “pizza,” so that when you load the toppings on you can arrange around your cut lines and the individual slices

I made pretty big slices. I think next time I might make them half that size.

I made pretty big slices. I think next time I might make them half that size.

 won’t have fruit sliding off of them when you try to serve it later. Just remember to wipe off the pizza blade between cuts so crumbs don’t ride up to the surface.

Once you’re satisfied with the preformed slices, you can begin decorating with the “toppings.” I alternated layers of strawberry and kiwi, but a more ambitious person could probably come up with all sorts of pretty designs and toppings. You could even experiment with different crust flavors and toppings–peanut butter cookie dough with

This is the fun part.

This is the fun part. Oh, my God. Did I just say that? Hang on a second. My "ten years ago" self is reaching through time to sucker punch me for saying this is what I do for fun now. LOL.

fudge frosting and sliced banana topping? Or maybe a “rocky road” pizza with chocolate chip cookie dough, marshmallow creme and nuts? Or maybe red-white-and blueberry? (God, I am such a loser.)

Anyway, I’d love to see what someone else comes up with, so please send me a photo of your version and I’ll post it with gusto! 🙂

So fruity. So sweet. So crunchy. I totally rule for making this. That is all.
So fruity. So sweet. So crunchy. I totally rule for making this. That is all.

Oh, I almost forgot. Make sure to refrigerate whatever you’re not serving right away with some plastic wrap loosely set over the top. Otherwise, the fruit’s juices could make the frosting get runny.

3 Responses to “Cheap Recipe: Easy Dessert Pizza”

  1. Geoff August 17, 2009 at 3:41 PM #

    I won’t lie. The sugar pizza was good.

  2. Gracie August 17, 2009 at 4:34 PM #

    Awwww. Thanks, Hubby. I knew you cared.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sugar buzz « Red Fork State of Mind - August 23, 2009

    […] made this tonight from a recipe on Grace’s Red Kitchen blog. It’s pretty good, but I’d definitely take […]

Leave a Reply

