Cheap Recipe: Amazing Baked Flounder

14 Aug
For a printable version of this recipe, click here.
Make sure you're sitting down when you try this...it's that good.

Make sure you're sitting down when you try this...it's that good.

Oh. My. God. I made this fish last night without much of a plan or really any semblance of a recipe, and Lordy, was it good!

I scored an awesome deal at ALDI last week on frozen boneless, skinless flounder fillets (FIVE fish fillets for $3.99!) and decided that would leave me room to experiment two different meals and still have a whole fillet leftover for making stuffed mushrooms a la Red Lobster-style with later. After preparing two of the fillets in the oven last night, all I can do is kick myself for not preparing them all that way at the same time and mouth-hoovering them all up in a millisecond. Yum. Oh, and for you dieters out there, this is both Phase One South Beach-friendly and Atkins-friendly!!

So, without further ado, I give you my simple and quick new recipe for the best baked flounder you will ever eat in this life or the next. Oh, and I also want to briefly thank my macro lens for finally not screwing up for one G.D. moment and letting me actually zoom in on this flaky, wonderful creation. Thanks, Canon PowerShot.

Chef’s Note: Because I don’t have room to store a broiler pan in our tiny cabinet space, I use a slightly different

Sure beats storing a mammoth broiler pan under your counter!

Sure beats storing a mammoth broiler pan under your counter!

 method for cooking meat in the oven, but it works like a charm. I line a jelly roll pan (cookie sheet with shallow sides) with aluminum foil and then place a wire cookie cooling rack over the pan. The meat goes on top of that so all the extra fat, grease, or in this case, “excess fishy taste” drips off the meat and down below. Plus, the heat circulates evenly around the meat, providing an even bake or broil without soggy patches. I love this method!

I rarely use a measuring spoon at my house. It's one more thing to wash later!

I rarely use a measuring spoon at my house. It's one more thing to wash later!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Begin by placing two thawed flounder fillets across the metal wire rack. In a small bowl, combine the following and stir: 3 tablespoons olive oil, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/2 teaspoon dill weed, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, 1/2 teaspoon dried chives (or onion powder) and salt/pepper to taste. Please note these are very unscientific measurements–I usually just shake some spice onto my hand until I think it looks good.

Mix spices with oil and lemon juice for a tangy marinade.

Mix spices with oil and lemon juice for a tangy marinade.

 Everyone’s tastes are different, so just sprinkle this and that to your liking. Spoon or brush the marinade over the tops of the fillets and pop in the oven. Cook 20-25 minutes or until fish is slightly flaky when touched with a fork. I had to let mine go about five extra minutes, but I’m not sure the fillets were really and

Fish will be lightly browned and flake easily when finished.

Fish will be lightly browned and flake easily when finished.

truly entirely thawed when I began, so…allow for a little cushion in cooking time.

Serve immediately and savor this melt-in-your-mouth fish! And send me some!

Mommy, can we please have this EVERY night for dinner???

Mommy, can we please have this EVERY night for dinner???

5 Responses to “Cheap Recipe: Amazing Baked Flounder”

  1. redforkhippie August 15, 2009 at 9:26 AM #

    What are your sides?

  2. Gracie August 17, 2009 at 7:58 AM #

    Frozen Southwestern rice (BirdsEye or something similar; I remember the generic kind was sold out) and a concoction of Brussels sprouts & red peppers simmered in chicken broth, drained and then coated in butter. I’m usually a rice & peas eater with fish, and thought I had peas in the freezer, but I was wrong…so the sprouts had to pose as gigantic peas. 🙂

  3. transplantednorth January 30, 2011 at 5:38 PM #

    going to try it tonight, but I don’t have a rack that fits in my baking pan, just going to use the same seasonings in a baking pan. Thanks for posting a flounder recipe.

    • Gracie January 30, 2011 at 5:43 PM #

      My pleasure! I hope you really enjoy it! BTW, you can always prevent sogginess without a rack by “raising” the fish in a few places underneath with strips of tin foil that have been folded over on themselves a few times until about 3/4″ thick. That will keep the bottoms of your fish fillets out of too much of its own grease. And the added bonus is that then you don’t have to scrub a wire rack. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

    • Gracie January 30, 2011 at 5:44 PM #

      Oh! Almost forgot–be sure to spray the foil strips with nonstick coating. 🙂

Leave a Reply

